Skip to main content


California’s accountability waiver request to the U.S. Department of Education (ED) was approved by the ED. The approval letter, dated April 6, 2021, is posted on the ED’s web page at


Please note that the approved waiver is specific to accountability. For the latest information on the 2021 Spring Assessment Administration, see the CDE COVID-19 Assessment FAQs web page at

English Language proficiency Assessment of California (ELPAC) Initial: All Grades July 1 - October 31

English Language proficiency Assessment of California (ELPAC) Summative: All Students Feb 1 May 31

Physical fitness Testing: Grades 5, 7, and 9: Canceled for this school Year

Smarter Balances Assessment Consortium (SBAC): Grades 3-8, and 11 March 12 - June 13

Advanced Placement (AP) Exams:  High School May 3 - May 14 (Specific dates for each subject)

California Science Test (CAST):  Grades 5, 8, and 12 March 12 - June 13

CAASPP - California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress

On January 1, 2014, California Education Code Section 60640 established the CAASPP System of assessments. The CAASPP - CalEdFacts Web page provides a more detailed overview of the system. The CAASPP System (PDF) includes the following required assessments and additional resources.

2016 CAASPP Results External link opens in new window or tab. (Posted 18-Oct-2016) – School, district, county, and statewide summary results.

CAASPP Public Reporting Web Site – Frequently Asked Questions

  • Smarter Balanced Assessments – The Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments, Interim Assessments, and Digital Library are all part of the CAASPP System.
  • The California Alternate Assessments (CAAs) for English Language Arts (ELA) and mathematics are given in grades three through eight and grade eleven. The 2017 spring pilot CAA for science will be given to students enrolled in grades five and eight and once in high school (i.e., grade ten, eleven, or twelve). The California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA) for Science will no longer be administered. Only eligible students may participate in the administration of the CAAs.
  • California Science Tests (CAST) will be piloted in spring 2017. All students enrolled in grades five, eight will be administered the pilot test. High school students will be selected by grade to participate once (i.e., grade ten, eleven, or twelve). This new assessment is aligned with the California Next Generation Science Standards. The California Standards Test (CST) and California Modified Assessment (CMA) for Science will no longer be administered.  

From the California Department of Education Website


Joshua Thibodeaux
Data Analysis Coordinator

Sheila Goldsberry
Administrative Secretary I